To have, to hold and a plate of oatmeal cookies

oatmeal cookies

If the first year of marriage has taught me anything it might be this: practice tenacity, forgiveness, listening then talking, embrace the need for God, plan adventures, respect the need for space and time, cultivate dependence and independence.

It’s a longer list than I expected. It grows every day.

To have and to hold- that’s how it begins. But the rest of it is beautifully unwritten. The rest of it looks as different as each couple. You have to choose to deepen that relationship. It takes time. Marinating. It sounds like a properly grilled flank steak. You hold the ones you love close for the time you have them. You work on the friendship knowing that as iron sharpens iron, so one person sharpens another. For us this means:

He works on his novel, I revise poems.
He explores the edges of his guitar and I hum or sing along.
He creates new fantastical worlds and I bind books.
He washes dishes, I cook.

It works. And sometimes, on very special occasions, it involves oatmeal raisin cookies.

About Anneliesz

Food. Poetry. People. Art. If I was Julie Andrews singing her song, these would be some of my favorite things. My biggest food fail was something we'll call "Tuna Surprise," but that never kept me out of the kitchen. Cooking is my own playtime. While I'm not a chef and would never claim to be anything less than an experimenter of flavors and textures, I sure do love to feed people. Then there's my love of writing which commenced at a wee age over a talking pen named "Percy". I love rolling words around my tongue in different languages. Art camp taught me the importance of not having an eraser. Life is an adventure and one whose marrow I seek to suck as much out of as possible. Join me as I live my life en route.

10 responses to “To have, to hold and a plate of oatmeal cookies

  1. I love this. And those cookies look delicious.

  2. I love your view on marriage, and the cookies look incredible too.

  3. Beautiful post! I am way overdue for wishing you a happy first anniversary, but definitely thought of you and Nathan on our matching special day. 🙂 Congrats!

  4. A sweet and honest tribute to marriage—happy 1-year anniversary and oatmeal cookie cheers to many more!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive freshly baked recipes, poems, stories and art of new posts by email.

Join 37 other followers

Categories

